?

Log in

No account? Create an account
heart + stomach
Innerbrat
Advancing the sum total of human knowledge and endeavour!
Blah blah cult of masculinity blah blah I just like the word 'willy' 
6th-Jul-2010 10:55 am
war
It appears the UK political blogosphere is just alight with exciting and vibrant conversation about how Total Politics (a site I've never visited) is having a wily waving competition and how we just don't care because all the Tory Boys always win it with their gossipy issue-free blogerising but we're voting anyway because that'll show 'em.

And I'm nothing if not a complete crowd-follwing sheep.

Anyway, if you'd like to vote, these are the rules (emphasis mine):
1. You must vote for your ten favourite blogs and rank them from 1 (your favourite) to 10 (your tenth favourite).
2. Your votes must be ranked from 1 to 10. Any votes which do not have rankings will not be counted.
3. You MUST include at least FIVE blogs in your list, but please list ten if you can. If you include fewer than five, your vote will not count.
4. Email your vote to toptenblogs@totalpolitics.com
5. Only vote once.
6. Only blogs based in the UK, run by UK residents or based on UK politics are eligible. No blog will be excluded from voting.
7. Anonymous votes will not count. You must give a name.
8. All votes must be received by midnight on 31 July 2010. Any votes received after that date will not count.
9, DO NOT list on your blog ten blogs you think your readers should vote for. Any duplicate voting of this nature will be disallowed.

I'm not posting the list I actually voted for, but here are more than 10 good UK based political blogs, in alphabetical order:

Alex Wilcock - http://loveandliberty.blogspot.com/
Alix Mortimer - http://fabulousblueprocupine.wordpress.com
Andrew Ducker - http://andrewducker.livejournal.com/
Andrew Hickey - http://andrewhickey.info/
Burkesworks - http://burkesworks.livejournal.com/
Caron Lindsay - http://carons-musings.blogspot.com/
Charlotte Gore -http://charlottegore.com/
David Mathewman - http://djm4.dreamwidth.org/
Debi Linton - http://innerbrat.livejournal.com/
The F-Word: http://www.thefword.org.uk/blog/
Jen Yockney - http://jenyockney.blogspot.com/
Jennie Rigg  - http://miss-s-b.dreamwidth.org/
Liz Williams - http://lizw.dreamwidth.org/
Mat Bowles - http://matgb.dreamwidth.org
Millennium Elephant: http://millenniumelephant.blogspot.com/
Pai - http://paiwings.blogspot.com
Penny Red - http://pennyred.blogspot.com/
Pickwick - http://pickwick.dreamwidth.org/
Purple Pen - http://purple-pen.livejournal.com/
Roz Kaveney - http://rozk.livejournal.com
Uncle Steve  - http://tyrell.livejournal.com

(um, sorry if I've forgotten anyone! Let me know if I have.)

OR, if you're feeling a bit contrary, [personal profile] miss_s_b had an idea to try and encourage people to vote specificallly for one blogger: a woman, who posts a lot about diversity politics and is less than interested in Westminster gossip, partisan wrangling and politiconomics, and therefore is nothing like a "Real" political blogger. Jennie even compared it to getting RatM to Christmas #1. If that's the kind of thing you're interested in, go check out Jennie's blog.

Otherwise just vote for your favourite UK political blogs. I'm sure you can come up with at least 5.
This post is also posted at InnerBrat @ Dreamwidth where it has comment count unavailable comments. Feel free to join in the conversation wherever you feel most comfortable.
Opinions 
6th-Jul-2010 11:50 am (UTC)
Thank you!

I'm still feeling guilty about not having followed up on the award you gave me - I promise it's on my to-do list, life has just been stressful and hectic recently.
6th-Jul-2010 11:51 am (UTC)
No worries at all. It was only a silly little back-slapping meme thing.
(Deleted comment)
6th-Jul-2010 01:15 pm (UTC)
I agree! It's been a while since Wil Wheaton went head to head in a blogging context.
(Deleted comment)
6th-Jul-2010 01:12 pm (UTC)
Mat's real name is Smatthew, you know.
This page was loaded Sep 24th 2017, 4:58 am GMT.